Guide to Business Source Complete / About Business Source Complete
WHAT IS BUSINESS SOURCE COMPLETE?
EBSCO Business Source Complete is a full-text database for the most important scholarly business journals, including Harvard Business Review.
- Company Profiles: Get information on key executives, competitors, major products and services, revenue and market value.
- SWOT Analyses: Learn the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats of a company.
- Country Reports: Get information on a country's political climate, economic condition, government spending, and gross domestic product of the region hosting the company you're searching.
- Industry Profiles: View profiles of the industry to which a company is related.
This guide reviews how to search Business Source Complete and save articles.
Guide to Business Source Complete / Searching
SEARCHING IN BUSINESS SOURCE COMPLETE
- Enter your keywords into the search boxes at the top of the screen.
- As you type, suggestions will come up. Use your own keywords or any database suggestions in your search.
- The default Select a Field option will search all fields in records as well as the full text.
- Use the dropdown menu to search specific fields. For example, you can search just by title, author, or subject headings.
NAVIGATING RESULTS
- Search results will look familiar, as they are similar to the ones in OCLS QUICKsearch and other EBSCO databases like Academic Search Complete.
- Results will be displayed by Relevance. You can change this to sort by Date, Author, or Title.
- The Limit To section on the left displays available filters. The most useful are:
- Filter by Publication Date. Especially useful if you see many older titles.
- Filter by Full Text. To only see articles available in full text.
- Filter by Peer Reviewed. To see only peer-reviewed articles.
Guide to Business Source Complete / Viewing
OPENING AN ARTICLE
To view an article:
- Click the PDF Full Text, HTML Full Text, or Check Online Availability link (whichever is available or your preference).
The article will open in the same browser window or tab.
Guide to Business Source Complete / Saving & Linking
SAVING, EMAILING, AND LINKING
EBSCO features several options for saving, printing, emailing, and linking to articles.
- Google Drive - Save pages to your Google Drive.
- Add to folder - Add this article to your My EBSCO folder.
- Print Pages - Print pages.
- E-mail Pages - Similar to the Save option, but the PDF file will be emailed to you instead of downloaded to your computer.
- Cite - See suggested citations in APA and other formats.
- Note: There are always errors with computer-generated citations. Check for capitalization and other errors.
- Export - For power users, export the citations as a RIS file you can upload into Academic Writer or other citation managers.
- Permalink - The permanent link you can copy and save to revisit. This is the link you want to use if you are sharing a link in a discussion board.
Guide to Business Source Complete / Company Profiles
SEARCHING FOR COMPANY PROFILES
- Hover over More at the top of the page and click Company Profiles.
- The Company Profiles List Screen appears. You can use the Next, Previous, and A - Z links to browse the Company Profiles List.
- Enter all or part of the company's name in the Browse field. (For example, you could enter GE, General, or Gen.)
- Select a search type. Click one:
- Alphabetical - Finds companies beginning with the letters you entered. Results are displayed in alphabetical order.
- Match Any Words - Finds companies with one or more of your terms in the company name. Results are displayed in order of relevance to your search terms.
- Click Browse to view a Result List of companies that match your search terms.
VIEW COMPANY DETAILS
- Click the hyperlinked company name. The Detail View is displayed.
- To view the complete report, click MarketLine Report.
- To search the database for results related to the company you are viewing, beside Search Periodicals and Other Sources for, click the linked company name. A Result List is displayed.
Guide to Business Source Complete / SWOT Analyses
SEARCHING FOR SWOT ANALYSES
- On the Advanced Search Screen, enter the name of a company in the search box and change the dropdown from Select a Field (optional) to CO Company Entity.
- Select the Full Text limiter under the search boxes in the Limit your results area.
- In the Limit your results area, select SWOT Analysis in the Publication Type box.
- Click Search.
- Click PDF Full Text to read the SWOT Analysis.
Guide to Business Source Complete / Country Reports
SEARCHING FOR COUNTRY REPORTS
- On the Advanced Search Screen, enter the name of a country in the search box and change the dropdown from Select a Field (optional) to GE Geographic Terms.
- Select the Full Text limiter under the search boxes in the Limit your results area.
- In the Limit your results area, select Country Reports in the Publication Type box.
- Click Search.
- Click PDF Full Text to read the Country Report.
Guide to Business Source Complete / Industry Profiles
SEARCHING FOR INDUSTRY PROFILES
- On the Advanced Search Screen, enter the NAICS code in the search box and change the dropdown from Select a Field (optional) to IC NAICS Code or Description.
- Select the Full Text limiter under the search boxes in the Limit your results area.
- In the Limit your results area, select Industry Profile in the Publication Type box.
- Click Search.
- Click PDF Full Text to read the Country Report.
Guide to Business Source Complete / Tutorials
TUTORIALS
