About EBSCO eBooks Guide: About EBSCO eBooks

Guide to EBSCO eBooks / Browsing

BROWSING BOOK TITLES

Keyword searching is the best way to find books in EBSCO, but you can browse books as well. 

• Click eBooks in the top menu.
• Select the collection you want to browse. 
  • eBook Collection
  • eBook Academic Collection
  • eBook Religion Collection
  • eBook Business Collection
• On the left side of the page, select a topic area of interest in the Browse By Category list.

Guide to EBSCO eBooks / Searching

SEARCHING IN EBSCO EBOOKS

• Enter your keywords into the search boxes at the top of the screen. 
• As you type, suggestions will come up. Use your own keywords or any database suggestions in your search. 
• The default Select a Field option will search all fields in records about the book as well as the book's full text.  
  • Use the dropdown menu to search specific fields.  For example, you can search just the titles or subject headings of books.

NAVIGATING RESULTS 

• Search results will look familiar, as they are similar to the ones in OCLS QUICKsearch and other EBSCO databases like Academic Search Complete. The major difference here is that the results only show books, and only books, available directly from EBSCO.
• Results will be displayed by Relevance.  You can change this to sort by Date, Author, or Title. 
• The Limit To section on the left displays available filters. The most useful are:
  • Filter by Publication Date. Especially useful if you see many older titles.
  • Filter by Full Text. Use this to only see books available in full text.   

Guide to EBSCO eBooks / Viewing

OPENING A BOOK

To view a book:

• Click the PDF Full Text or EPUB Full Text link (whichever is available or your preference).

The ebook will open in the same browser window or tab. Navigation options when reading a book include:

• Use the Table of Contents on the left to skip to specific chapters.
• Use the arrows on the bottom of the page to move forward or backward a page at a time, or enter a specific page number. 
• Fullscreen and zoom options are in the bottom right of the ebook viewer page.
• You can use the Search Within option to search for specific keywords within the ebook you have opened. 

Guide to EBSCO eBooks / Saving & Linking

SAVING, EMAILING, AND LINKING

EBSCO eBooks features several options for saving, printing, emailing, and linking to ebook pages. The options are in the toolbar at the top and generally are labeled in clear ways. From left to right:

• Add to folder -  Add this ebook to your My EBSCO folder. 
• Save Pages - Download a limited amount of pages from an ebook as a PDF file.  
  • Note: Should you reach the session limit, closing your browser window or tab and revisiting later will allow you to download more pages. In most instances, the download limit will cover the particular chapter you need. 
• E-mail Pages - Similar to the Save option, but the PDF file will be emailed to you instead of downloaded to your computer. 
• Print Pages - Print pages. 
• Cite - See suggested citations in APA and other formats. 
  • Note: There are always errors with computer-generated citations. Check for capitalization and other errors.
• Dictionary - Look up unfamiliar terms for a quick definition.
• Export - For power users, export the citations as a RIS file you can upload into Academic Writer or other citation managers.  
• Permalink - The permanent link you can copy and save to revisit. This is the link you want to use if you are sharing a link in a discussion board. 
• Google Drive - Save pages to your Google Drive. 

Guide to EBSCO eBooks / Tutorials

TUTORIALS & DOCUMENTATION